My Little Skeptic

Ms Action is a natural skeptic. She doesn’t believe anything until she has evidence in front of her. Of course, I used to produce what I thought was evidence for Christianity and god, so we’re getting rid of that, but it’s honestly not proving to be as hard as I thought it would be.

 
We’re studying real science and she’s eating it up. We’ve read Bang! The Story of How We Came to Be a good half dozen times in the past few days. She’s had questions about how grass evolved, so we looked it up. (She got distracted before we really looked at it, so that study is still waiting for us).

 
I don’t think I’m going to have much trouble getting Ms Action into a freethinking mindset, really. We’re homeschooling because of bullying and moving so much, and she doesn’t believe a word I say. Which while aggravating, is good. That’s what I’m trying to tell myself, anyway. She was doing a rhinoceros worksheet and asked me what color rhinos are, I said a grayish color. Her immediate response was “I don’t believe you, let’s look it up!” We did (and I was right, they’re grayish). At first, I was a bit annoyed, until it hit me – if she doesn’t believe what I say, just because I say it, that means she probably won’t believe what other people say just because they’re in a position of authority. It also means that when she knows something, she knows it because she’s studied it.

 
We’re reading everything – we’re doing the Classical method of schooling, which stressed thinking and the written word over colorful images, so the brain develops more fully. We’re reading Egyptian, Greek, Norse,, Mesopotamian, Indian, Native American, African, and Middle Eastern mythology. The curriculum I’m using does teach stuff from the bible as fact, so I’m still going to teach it, but as the mythology it is. And, fortunately, the science is true science, not young earth creationism.

 
I’m hoping that our school choice will increase Ms Actions skepticism, need for evidence and thinking abilities. (Ms Piggy, too, but she’s all of one, so pretty far away from formal schooling).

 
For now, I’m just glad Ms Action asks questions instead of believing whatever she’s told. 

2 thoughts on “My Little Skeptic

  1. There’s a relevant Neil deGrasse Tyson quote that goes something like: “We spend the first year of a child’s life teaching it to walk and talk, and the rest of their lives telling them to shut up and sit down.”

    It’s good to know there are parents actually encouraging their kids’ sense of curiosity.

    1. I love that quote!

      Sometimes, it’s exhausting. She’s so full of questions, but then I remember that’s how one learns and sometimes I snap and sometimes I don’t, but we still try to learn. :)

Leave a Reply

